My Ride

“Oh, oh
I’m falling so I’m taking my time on my ride
Oh, I’m falling so I’m taking my time on my ride
Taking my time on my ride”
Twenty One Pilots-Ride

So, this song started on repeat in my head the minute I started taking this picture and at first I was like, ok, I’ll give them the lyrics and let it go. Then I listened a few more times. Then I read the lyrics without the music, because I love poetry and I recognized the true depth of the song. While its the chorus that usually sticks with us and plants some lovely ear worms, the meat of this song comes in the too quick to keep up in a sing along portion. Give it a read, think it over, then meet me after the row of stars.

 

“I’d die for you
That’s easy to say
We have a list of people that we would take
A bullet for them
A bullet for you
A bullet for everybody in this room
But I don’t see to see many bullets coming through
See many bullets coming through
Metaphorically I’m the man
But literally I don’t know what I’d do
I’d live for you
And that’s hard to do
Even harder to say
When you know it’s not true
Even harder to write
When you know that tonight
There are people back home which are talking to you
But then you ignore them still
All these questions they’re forming like
Who would you live for?
Who would you die for?
And would you ever kill?”

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪

I hope you have thought it over to yourself, before just skipping to this part. Either way, here’s what I’ve got to say about it…if you’re interested. It’s okay if you’re not, you can scroll on down to the credits. I’ll never know and even if you told me, I’m not going to get butthurt over it. Now that I’ve stalled you enough to make you think one way or the other…let’s jump on down that rabbit hole, shall we?

The whole “die for you” and “take a bullet for you” thing. I can’t know if you’ve ever said it, but I sure have. I can’t know if you have taken a bullet for someone or not, but I haven’t. I have, however, had a gun pulled on me and was more than willing to take that bullet. Being a female, I didn’t have to take the bullet afterall, I just had to take something else while the gun was held to my head. I can say without hesitation that I would be willing to take a bullet for a number of people, but that’s because I’m not afraid to die. I also know that a bullet does not always bring death. So, that answers the next question, as to who I’d die for, because I’d die for quite a number of people if it meant they could keep on living. It’s those same people that I live for, because truth be told if it were just up to me I would have been gone well over a year ago.  I didn’t choose to live for myself. I chose not to bring sorrow and suffering to those I love. Last question, would I ever kill? Yes. If I felt I had no other choice, most definitely. Oddly enough, all of these questions are things I’ve thought about in the past, but I never considered how deeply this song would make think about my past, my present, or my future. Ironically the song points out that the singer has been thinking too much. In turn, the song has caused me to think quite a lot.
After all that heavy thinking, I think I’ll just relax and enjoy what’s left of my ride. Here’s hoping that you can make the most of yours and enjoy it, because as many of us have realized this last week…the ride isn’t as long as we sometimes think it is…*lifts her coffee to the sky*…let’s try to enjoy the ride today as long as it last.

my ride

wearing:
hair
[RA] Marina Hair
headCATWA HEAD Kathy
bodyMaitreya Mesh Body – Lara

EF: Summersong Necklace (*new* @ FaMESHed)
*Just BECAUSE* Eva Dress
[VALE KOER] GARTER SOCKS
Phedora ~ Lupe Sneakers (*new* @ Vintage Fair)

pose: [ Focus Poses ] 50’s Tbird (*new* @ Vintage Fair)
backdrop: [Bad Unicorn] ‘The Docks’ Backdrop

 

 

Leave a Reply

