Dear Bloggers

So, about a month or two ago, I got rejected when I applied to blog for a store I love. I jokingly made this dramatic post about feeling rejected. It turned into this huge thing, suddenly there was this outpouring of love and support from my friends and even some people I hardly knew at all.  Now we all just dealt with the Blueberry blogger apps. I don’t think its a secret that I wanted that one equally as much. Guess what? I didn’t get it.  I’m not upset or even sad. Sure, I’m a little disappointed, but its not a big deal. I tried. It didn’t happen. I’m super thrilled for all my friends that did get it, but I certainly did not take the rejection personally. Nor do I take most rejections personally and I’ve had more than my fair share.
Now, here’s where it gets interesting. In just one day I’ve seen bloggers all excited that they got chosen and others ready to throw in the towel and quit blogging because they didn’t get what they want. Some are feeling not good enough. Some are feeling like they should have gotten it and don’t understand why they didn’t. Some are throwing full on fits all over Facebook. Let me just say this to those of you throwing tantrums. Do you think that makes you look good? As a blogger manager, I see you throw tantrums like that and think to myself, “Ugh, that’s not someone I want to work with.” Listen, my best friend is a blogger manager for a store I wanted to blog for and I didn’t even get that! So, seriously just stop it. No one is stopping you from blogging the items from  your favorite stores. Whether you were good enough or not, you’ve got to put on your big girl panties and grow up. Why did you start blogging in the first place? If it was to get free stuff, well, you’re doing it for the wrong reasons and believe me…people can tell if you’re heart’s not in it. As a blogger manager, I recently had to let one of my friends go off a blogging team, because she wasn’t keeping up. I’ve had to send warnings to friends. I’ve received warnings from friends. This is the life of a blogger. You need thick skin, a creative soul, and a blogger’s heart. If you truly have a blogger’s heart, you won’t be able to stop and a rejection isn’t going to slow you down one bit. So, suck it up buttercups…a rejection is nuffin, muffin….you wanna blog? Do it!  Wanna blog a certain store, but can’t afford fatpacks, then try demos, get an idea, then buy the color you want and blog it anyway! Sheesh. Trust this, I will still blog Blueberry and the other store I didn’t get. You know why? Cuz I love their designs and I’m more than willing to buy them!

sacrifice

wearing:
hair: [RA]  Britney Hair (*new* @ Hairology)
head: CATWA HEAD Tala
body: Maitreya Mesh Body
[Cynful] – Shameless (October Bound Box)

pose: GingerFish Poses – Black Love (*new* @ Darkness Monthly Event)
uk  – With These Chains Photobox (*new* @ ManCave)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Pink Kitten says:

    Great post. Thanks for this, it’s reassuring, as a newer blogger, it’s good to see an established bloggers pov. You are a fab blogger, and inspire many xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are so right! As a blogger i struggle to get better everyday, to overcome and just be better. I got rejected a few times, its part of our blogger “job”. Just keep up the amazing work ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Starr says:

    My feelings about being rejected is OK its not gonna make me jump and and down I even got a really nice informative rejection letter from a B.M. that specifically gave me the why’s ~ and understand and thanked this person very graciously ~ there is a saying going round it is not how many times you fall down it is how many times you pick yourself up and go on ~ so many bloggers out there that honestly speaking I cringe when I look at their blogs and then they wonder why they were not chosen ~ suggestions are given to assist and you would think OMG do not tell me I should not have little pink hearts falling or music blaring or a font no one can read as they pout and go but it’s MY blog ~ and there are so many other bloggers way better than me that I look at, and see how what I can do to improve mine ~ for me going to the BVN lectures has helped as there are so many good suggestions made if you listen ~ anyway sorry to ramble this was a great blog post so well done!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

