When I was growing up, my mom always made a thing about meals. The table had to be set just right. If food was being put on the table it had to be in just the right serving dishes with just the right serving spoons/forks. I was always fascinated by her dinner rituals. The table had to be set before she would begin cookiing. There had to be a table cloth and place mats. The silverware had to match and be just so. I’d ask her why setting the table in such a manner was so important and she would say, “Presentation is everything!”
As I got older, I realized that not only was my mother just a decor nut, but she loved cooking and she loved showcasing the meals she had so lovingly prepared. Even the simplest of meals had to be prepared a certain way. A sandwich with chips/crisps had to be cut diagonally and spread apart with the chips/crisps piled up between the two halves. As a teen I would roll my eyes are this and think she was absolutely crazy. Now, I realize she’s rubbed off on me and not only do I also like to present my plates of a food in an attractive manner, but I love a well set table.

the table

From watching cooking shows, I’ve learned that the more beautiful the presentation, the more likely the diner will enjoy the meal. Something about the psychology of the food being pleasing to the eye. I’m grateful that I grew up in a home where we dined together, even though many of our family meals were awkwardly silent. *laughs*
Now, in Second Life, I find myself bringing some of that tradition into my SL homes. Despite the fact that I don’t do family RP and rarely “use” the kitchen or the dining room. I feel like I must have both! Luckily for me, I can set any kind of table I want…anywhere I want. I love the idea of outdoor dinner parties so I’ve brought together two of my favorite designers, unKindness and Fancy Decor to create my own beautiful dining presentation.

dinner party

scene:
Fancy Decor: Concrete Block
uK – Villa Pergola Dark (*new* @ Limit8)
Fancy Decor: Davis Long Panel
Fancy Decor: Davis Fence Window
uK – uK – Metal Stiks w/Lights L.E. Silver (*new & Limited Edition* @ Limit8)
dust bunny . pilea peper plant (*new* @ FaMESHed)
dust bunny . areca palm plant (*new* @ FaMESHed)
dust bunny . pink medinilla plant (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Fancy Decor: Monstera Print A (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Trompe Loeil – Caparra Wall Ivy Corner Left + Lights
Trompe Loeil – Caparra Wall Ivy Corner Right + Lights
Fancy Decor: Monstera Print B (*new* @ FaMESHed)
dust bunny . potted rubber tree (*new* @ FaMESHed)
DRD – Industrial hanging lights
Fancy Decor: Bonham Rug (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Fancy Decor: Bonham Dining Table (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Fancy Decor: Triangle Candle (silver) (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Forest – Wine botttles by Bazar
Fancy Decor: Turvy Wine Glass (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Fancy Decor: Bonham Place Setting (silver) (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Fancy Decor: Geometric Placemat (*new* @ FaMESHed)
Forest – Flower pot by Bazar

Leave a Reply

