Family Ties

“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.” ~Richard Bach
I haven’t started a blog with a quote that wasn’t a song lyric in a while, but this topic has been on my mind for some time now. Father’s Day occurred only two days ago and as I scrolled through Facebook I saw message after message about people’s fathers. Some were well wishes, some shared memories of fathers past, and then there were people like me that avoided the subject altogether. I can’t know why others avoided the subject, but I know why I did. I even had to tell Skype (yes, outloud) to stfu. Skype had a message that said, “Fathers are people, too!” My response was, “Not all of them! Some of them are monsters!” I don’t think its a secret that I’m another girl on the grid with daddy issues. Given how common abusive fathers seem to be, we’re merely statistics.
However, I’m not going to waste this post or your time bitching about my father. Instead, I want to embrace the blessing of family bonding with people I’ve never even met face to face. Like many other people in Second Life, I am part of a family. I don’t always feel like part of the family, as most of them really don’t talk to me much and to be fair, its not like I go out of my way to hunt them down and pursue conversations either. Yet, I do feel like a few of them would truly be there if I needed them.
I think the truest “family” I have on the grid would probably be the cunts. Now, hold on, don’t get your britches twisted, we call ourselves the Cunt Cult and we’re a group of besties. At the core there’s four of us, there’s a fifth one, but she’s off living the real life. (She fell in love! SQUEEEE!) Kess, Tracy, Grace, and I have built a bond unlike that I’ve ever known before. We’re not a clique. We don’t go around doing the whole mean girls thing, dressing alike, following a leader. Although, if we did, Kess would be it…she’s bossy like that. *laughs* My point is…while some of us don’t have traditional families in real life or even partake in family groups on the grid, we have each other. We have that bond between friends that is as strong, if not stronger, than any family ties I’ve ever known. For that, I am grateful.
I have so many circles of wonderful friends inworld that I am so grateful for and I love them each dearly. Though we may not speak every day and some not even every week, we are there for one another when it counts. I’m also grateful for my fur babies in real life, because they are just as much a part of my family as my mother or my husband. Even though they can’t make me coffee in the morning.
So, whatever kind of family ties you have, hold them close, hold them dear to you heart, and don’t wait for some “holiday” to celebrate them. Tell them today that you love them, because none of us are guaranteed a tomorrow.

family

wearing: 
hair
:  Lamb. Home (June Luxe Box)
headCATWA HEAD Kathy
skin: Glam Affair – Polly – Catwa Mesh Head Applier – Jamaica (*new* @ Arcade)
bodyMaitreya Mesh Body – Lara
UC_Jane_Fringe_mini_dress_slate (*new* @ Kustom9)
#EMPIRE – Wandflower (June VIP Group Gift)

pose by Double Take
location: The Mill 

Leave a Reply

