Change It

“If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.”
~Maya Angelou

I think life is a lot like a room in  your house. There’s even a theory about the state of one’s bedroom being a direct reflection of their state of mind. In which case, I’m screwed. *laughs nervously* Seriously though, I do think that life is like a room…you can have the same furniture in the room for years and if you never move it, then nothing changes. However, take one thing away or add just one new thing and it changes your perspective of the room. Rearrange the furniture completely and it can feel like an entirely new room. The same is true for life and our attitudes about it.
Take away one negative thought and replace it with a positive one. Your entire outlook on things can change. Its true of so many things, isn’t it? Plus or minus and everything changes. I hate raw tomatoes on anything. Put them on a burger, sandwich, or a salad and I’m going to scrunch my nose until I pick it off, then I’m happy again, because that one thing made me not like it. So, I changed it. Same theory, but this time, lets say the burger, sandwich, or salad is fine the way it is. Now let’s add bacon…omgah! Soooo much better, right? And if you don’t think bacon makes it better, we can’t be friends. Okay, now take those same food items that are fine as is, put blue cheese dressing on them and I’m done. I’m walking away. The only thing I can change is my attitude and my attitude is that I’m not hungry enough to eat that. Whoa, wait…I’m not hungry enough? I’m not starving. I have a choice as to what I eat. Whoa. I just found gratitude for a simple choice that life has to offer. No sense being angry about my food being ruined now, is there?
Its a very simple analogy, but honestly it really can be applied to almost all areas of our lives. No, you’re not going to be blinded by the silver lining of every tragedy right away, but if you look hard enough you can and will find brighter days ahead. Its all about the attitude. So, I challenge each of my readers to go out and find that silver lining today. If its already a good day, awesome…add some bacon. *grins*

fancy decor arcade_001

scene:
set up in- [tmk] skyroom
Fancy Decor: Copper Magazine Holder
Fancy Decor: Potted Succulent
07 Fancy Decor: Greek Key Chair (*new* @ Arcade)
Fancy Decor: Vintage Handled Vase
12 Fancy Decor: Tray Table (*new* @ Arcade)
08 Fancy Decor: Candle Lamp
11 Fancy Decor: Scented Candle
10 Fancy Decor: Worlidge Box (black)
DIGS – Almut Hanging Terrarium – Cactus
10 Fancy Decor: Greek Key Curtains (*new* @ Arcade)
:CP: Sara Hanging Plant
DIGS – Almut Hanging Terrarium – Succulent
striped mocha – hanging lotuses – black
01 Fancy Decor: Royce Sofa RARE (*new* @ Arcade)
09 Fancy Decor: Carpet Hide Rug (*new* @ Arcade)
03 Fancy Decor: Bamboo Coffee Table (*new* @ Arcade)
Fancy Decor: Antiquarian Books
17 Fancy Decor: Obelisk
13 Fancy Decor: Lathed Candles (*new* @ Arcade)
15 Fancy Decor: Decorative Box
16 Fancy Decor: Decorative Orb
08 Fancy Decor: X Bench (*new* @ Arcade)
04 Fancy Decor: Royce Chandelier (*new* @ Arcade)
Fancy Decor: Leaning Art
Fancy Decor: Floor Globe (gold)
Fancy Decor: Sphere Art Sculpture (gold)
02 Fancy Decor: Stone Fireplace RARE (*new* @ Arcade)
14 Fancy Decor: White Vase (*new* @ Arcade)
15 Fancy Decor: Blue Vase (*new* @ Arcade)
16 Fancy Decor: Van Gogh Sketch (*new* @ Arcade)
07 Fancy Decor: Opulent Egg (sapphire)
Fancy Decor: Carriage Clock (brass)
*YS&YS* Holborn Hanging Ivy
06 Fancy Decor: Ceramic Jars
[ zerkalo ] Huge pile of books RARE
Fancy Decor: White and Black Pillow
04 Fancy Decor: Throw Pillow

Leave a Reply

