When Did It Happen?

Record stores, newspapers, phone booths…they all seem rather obsolete these days. Technology has hurled us so far beyond these things, that all three are in the palm of hands.
Yes, from time to time you’ll stumble across a used record store and the random DJ that actually spins vinyl, or even the purest that insists nothing will ever sound better. However, on average most of us are listening to MP3s. I don’t even own a CD player anymore with the exception of the one in my eleven year old car that I still love as much as the day I got it. However, my RL husband (eventually ex) got a new car last year and it came with a USB port for MPs rather than a CD player. Seems CD players are becoming antiquated, too.
My father started a hobby magazine for radio control airplanes in the 80s. It did quite well, I was even fortunate enough to be assistant editor on a few issues. However, as the internet grew, his magazine suffered. Bloggers and websites quickly replaced subscriptions to his hobby magazine. Eventually, he sold his magazine to someone much younger that took it straight to the internet. That was the end of his magazine. Similarly, our local newspaper was forced to close their doors and re-route the issues through another city’s newspaper office. We only get two issues on the local stands now….Wednesday and Sunday. Bigger publications may still be in circulation, but even they have learned to incorporate the internet and offer a new type of subscription service there. Even books have moved to devices, they save us space and such, right? I tried those electronic readers, but I can’t do it. I need to feel of the paper in my hands, the smell of the ink as I crack it open to read another chapter.
Phones…whoa…land lines and phone booths are fading just as fast. I can’t remember the last time I saw a working phone booth. We let go of our land line years ago. Why pay for another phone line when each person in the house has their own personal cell phone?
I could go on and on about this subject as I’m sure anyone over 40 can. I’m just going to offer you a link to a song that really sums it up far better than I ever could. He’s an artist I was introduced to a little over a year ago and I quickly became a huge fan. His name is Watsky and the song is Tiny Glowing Screens Part 1. I encourage you to check him out for more than just this song while I try to wrap my head around it all.

when did it happen_001

wearing:
hair[monso] My Hair – Twobi (*new* @ Kustom9)
head: CATWA HEAD Kathy
bodyMaitreya Mesh Body – Lara
skinGlam Affair – Polly – Catwa Mesh Head Applier – Jamaica (*new* @ Kustom9)
lipstick: ::SG:: GellyLips Catwa and Classi SL Heads
tattooISUKA Sombra (ULTRA Anniversary gift)

[ kunst ] – Vintage Cigarette Holder
**RE** Dark Queen Bracelets
**RE** Dark Queen Rings – Bento 2.0
Kibitz — Bonnie Collar — Black (*new* @ Kustom9)
UC_Sisi_short_dress_red_Maitreya_Slink_Belleza (*new* @ Kustom9)

pose by Bauhaus Movement
location: Whole Wheat

3 thoughts on “When Did It Happen?

Add yours

  1. The one phone booth I see is now a homeless persons home each night. I remember a few years back when we had a bad snow bout mobile networks crashed. I couldn’t phone anyone because there were no phones anymore out there. I think they should come back

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, we had a power outage across the northern part of my state in 2011, would have been nice to have had a landline back then. Of course, we probably would have had cordless phones which wouldn’t wouldn’t work in a power outage anyway. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

