Talk Derby to Me

Once upon a time…like a decade plus ago, I was involved with the local roller derby girls in my real life. Oh don’t be daft, my ass was not a derby girl. Let me explain. I was editor of my college newspaper, so I was always on the hunt for a good story that the readers might find interesting. Well, it just so happened that my boss’s daughter was the captain of the new local roller derby team. I scheduled an interview and before I knew it I was hooked. I was going to all of their matches and a my assistant editor had joined up! It was a brutal, but incredibly sexy sport.
I was telling Josh about it when I was taking this picture and he didn’t anything about it. So, I went to YouTube in search of some examples and it seems the rules have changed quite a bit since my days of hanging out with derby girls. However, in the event that you, too, are not aware of what it is or would just like to check it out, I’ve found a video of highlights that I enjoyed called Roller Derby-The Mad Whirl!  Perhaps, you will, too. Either way, I’m loving all the skating pictures that are about on the blogs and Flickr at the moment, because it is really taking me down a pretty awesome memory lane. So, here’s the video. If you watch it, you’ll probably see where I got the title for this post.

talkderbytome_002

wearing:
hairpr!tty – Yuri – -Windy
head: CATWA HEAD Kathy
bodyMaitreya Mesh Body – Lara
skin: Glam Affair – Felicity – Catwa Mesh Head Applier – Jamaica (*new* @ C88)
facepaint: [LF] Native Paint 3 CATWA Applier
::SG:: GellyLips Catwa and Classi SL Heads
tattoo: [White~Widow] MatchPoint (*new* @ Uber)

::TI:: Grunge Face straps – Black Silver
.random.Matter. – Cermet Collar – Do Not Feed [Black]
BUENO-Rucy Top (*new* @ Kustom9)
{le fil casse} Minnie Skirt (*new* in Cutie Loot May)
fri. – Footless Socks (Athletic) (*new* @ Rewind)

pose by Di’s Opera

Astralia – Vintage backgrounds (Roller Rink) RARE (*new* @ Rewind)
REIGN.-  DERBY SKATES BAG- #13

Leave a Reply

