I’ve told this story so many times over the years, but have never taken the time to write it down, but this class room setting really reminded me of when I was in the third grade and learned a lesson that changed my life forever. I know some of you will find it absolutely shocking that I used to get in trouble for talking too much in class. In the third grade, they discovered I was ahead of the class. I would finish my assignments within minutes and be bored out of my skull, thus I would talk and talk and talk. Apparently this is quite unnerving for a teacher trying to keep order in a classroom. *giggles* There were two other girls in my class that were exactly like me. Needless to say the three of us were constantly in trouble. Eventually they tested us for aptitude and such. The results came back and it was recommended that all three of us be skipped to the fourth grade. Chrissy and Crystal (the other two girls) were both skipped as their parents were quite proud of the fact that their children were so smart. My parents, however, felt that I was already a stand out, as I was already younger than most of my class by several months and I was much shorter than most of the kids in my class. So, alas, my little bored butt was stuck in the third grade for the whole year, while my partners in crime moved on up the educational ladder.

school1

Now, I was not the only “bored” student left in the class, there was the boy that would rather eat paste and crayons than craft with them. I quickly found some solace in smearing Elmer’s glue all over my hands, waving them wildly about to make it dry, as I practiced peeling it off all in one full hand-print  sized piece. I don’t think I ever quite mastered that. After hearing far too many of us beg for mercy with cries of, “I’m bored!” She sat us all down in the story area (this was always one of my favorite parts of the day), but rather than read from the usual James and the Giant Peach…she began to teach us about boredom.
“Boredom is a state of mind, not a state of being, ” she said. She went on to explain that we CHOOSE to be bored, because there is ALWAYS something to do. A book to read, a picture to draw, a chore to be done, sights to be seen, walks to be taken, etc. She went on to say that only boring people get bored. Well, THAT sounded just awful to me! I vowed right then and there that I would NEVER be a boring person. I decided that day that I would never allow myself to be bored again.
I think over the next three years I read every Nancy Drew, Bobbsy Twins, and Hardy Boys books I could get my hands on. Not to mention Archie and Casper comic books. I read about horses a lot, too. I don’t know why. I began drawing, singing, dancing, and any other creative outlet I could find. I was an only child living with very strict parents (military Dads tend to be that way) and found myself alone with a cat or my stuffed animal friends far too often. So, began my everlasting hunt for shinies and squirrels. I do believe that Ms. Gonzalez may have actually inspired my A.D.D. *laughs*

school2

Now you know why I love squirrels and will endlessly chase them, because I’m in constant awe of everything around me all the time. From the spot of red paint on my bedroom ceiling in RL (that I often mistake for a bug late at night in the dark) to the multiple colors of leaves on a single tree to the endless creations in a virtual world. So, the next time you find yourself being bored? Go exploring in Second Life, there is so much to see and do…and if you honestly get bored in Second Life…well, go find yourself a squirrel, cuz they are fascinating little critters and soooo dang cute!!!
Speaking of cute…have you seen all the goodies on the grid lately? There seems to be quite a fairy tale theme and some retro events, too. If you love fashion, there’s no better time than the present to go out grab a mixture of items to create your very own virtual fairy tale look…or just step back in time like I have. Regardless of how you choose to spend your time on the grid…Be kind to one another and spread the love in your heart. ♥

Sady is wearing:
hair: /Wasabi Pills/  Olivia Mesh Hair (FLF-Feb 17, 2017)
head: CATWA HEAD Catya
eyes: CATWA Mesh Eyes w/-SU!– [CATWA & OMEGA HUD] Xenira Eyes ALL COLORS
ears.:E.A:.Studio Ears Falling Star (*new* @ Tres Chic)
skinDeeTalez
bodyMaitreya Mesh Body – Lara
hands: -VA-VISTA BENTO

**RE** Simone Heart Collar
**RE** ReVoX Aros Couple Bracelet – Female
-SECRETS- Bianca Rings – Black (*new* @ Crossroads)
The Annex – Mia Outfit (*new* @ Tres Chic)
{Luxuria} Lace Trim Thigh High Socks
fri. – Polley.Janes (*new* @ REWIND)

poses:  {QP} – Cute Girl Pose Set (*new* @ Cosmopolitan)
location: Elysium City of Templemore

Leave a Reply

