I rarely use my blog as a political platform or soap box or even to bring awareness to national/international issues. I prefer to maintain my focus on Second Life fashions and decor. However, I was recently asked to join the One Billion Rising (in Second Life) group as part of the press team. I am honored and admittedly I was a tad bit ignorant on the subject. I decided to do some homework and share my findings with my readers. If you honestly do not care one bit about the injustices done to women across the globe, then don’t bother reading the rest of the page and honestly, if you lack that much compassion for humanity, you can pretty much…well…nevermind. I choose to believe anyone reading my blog is a good person and will be interested in what I’m sharing today.

obr2

Let me first do my best to explain what One Billion Rising is all about. OBR launched its campaign on February 14th, 2012.  It “began as a call to action based on the staggering statistic that 1 in 3 women on the planet will be beaten or raped during her lifetime.” One year later people from all over the globe came together to rise against the injustices that women suffer and to demand and end to it. Another year later, in 2014, OBR focused on the justice for survivors of gender violence. The following year, 2015, activists around the world focused on a revolution, to demand accountability and change. “The theme of Revolution continues with a call to focus on marginalised women and to bring national and international focus to their issues; to bring in new artistic energy; to amplify Revolution as a call for system change to end violence against women and girls*; to call on people to rise for others, and not just for ourselves.

For more specific information about OBR in Real Life, please visit: http://www.onebillionrising.org/

obr1

Okay, so what does this have to do with Second Life? It means that because we have such a diverse and global community, we have yet another platform with which to bring awareness to the public. Creators, designers, and artists of all kinds have been busy working to create FOUR sims of incredible beauty…from stages and gardens, to artistic displays. I’ve been granted a very special privilege of sneaking in and taking a few shots to share with you. This is going to be an all day event. This is not a fundraiser, it is merely an eventful day to bring awareness to the public. It is my hope that you will all join in on the festivities for there have been countless hours of creativity and hard work to deliver such an amazing venue. Please join us.

For more information about OBR in Second Life, please visit: https://onebillionrisingsl.wordpress.com/

obr4

 

Leave a Reply

