Unanswered Prayers

I’m quite fortunate as of late to have become acquainted with a very talented live singer in Second Life, perhaps you’ve heard of her: Savannah Rain. Now, let me just say that in my 10+ yrs on the grid, I’ve NEVER been a huge fan of the live music scene. I’m not even a fan of live music in Real Life. I like the polished studio sound, sue me. However, a few months ago, my friend Troy dragged me out of my shell and kinda kidnapped me daily…dragging me to live music shows for singers he manages through Whispering Sands Live Promotions.  Not only have I become a bit of a fan of a few singers, but Savannah even has me liking country music again. Something I haven’t done in many many years. Now, this post is not about promoting any of what I mentioned above, but I thought why not give a shout out, since they’ve definitely changed my life. So, the point of this post is something the lovely Savannah said  the other day that really struck home, “Thank God, for unanswered prayers!”

born-to-rock3

I’ve heard that said before, but its been a long while. It really got me thinking about various things that I really thought I wanted throughout my life and how fortunate I was that I did not get what I so desperately wanted. Most recently for me I went after a job that I really thought I wanted. I got the interview. It went great. She called me in to sit and observe for a few hours with the woman I’d be replacing. She even paid me for the time I was there, but the day ended on an odd note. She told me I could leave early. I wasn’t sure if that was a good or bad thing as I literally did nothing for three hours. They wouldn’t let me do anything! I thought it went well and that I went above and beyond to show how much I wanted the job. So, I went home wondering if I’d done anything wrong, just hoping and praying that I didn’t…that I would get this job. I waited about an hour, then sent an email to let her know how much I appreciated the opportunity to come in and observe, making sure to express that I was still very interested in the position. That was almost two weeks ago. I’ve not gotten any response.
Maybe its just me, but it seems to me that if I was worth interviewing and inviting in for three hours of observation, am I not worth an email thanking me for coming in and letting me know they went another direction? Anything…something? Well, so now I’m sitting here thinking to myself, if THAT is how they treat someone that they simply interviewed and put through a try out process…I can only imagine what kind of boss she’d be. I’m no longer impressed and feeling rather glad that I didn’t get the job…now.

born-to-rock2

So, try not to be too sad when you don’t get something you think you really really want, because you never know…that thing you want? It might not be so great once you get it…or better yet…there’s something ten times more amazing waiting for you right around the corner. In the meantime, might I suggest you find some solace in some solid retail therapy.  Lots of great stuff out there and it should not surprise any of my regular readers to discover that I’m showing off more of my recent finds at Uber, hands down one of my favorite shopping events on the grid.

wearing:
hair: TRUTH HAIR JoJo (*new* @ Uber)
head: CATWA HEAD Catya
eyes: CATWA Mesh Eyes w/-SU!- [CATWA & OMEGA HUD] Xenira Eyes ALL COLORS
skin: [theSkinnery] Fleur (Catwa Applier) honey (*new* @ Shiny Shabby)
eyeshadow: ::SG::  Let’sGo Shadow – JESSICA HEAD :: Catwa
lipstick: ::SG:: Gelly Lips for CATWA Heads ONLY!
bodyMaitreya Mesh Body – Lara

**RE** Simone Heart Collar
[ kunst ] – Devon bracelets (*new* @ Uber)
[FORMANAILS] BALLERINA -2- NAILS FOR VISTA HAND Big Pack

Tres Blah – Bib Tank Top (Maitreya) – Rock (C88)
=Zenith=leather legging with belt (Black) -Maitreya
=Zenith=Detroit Boots (Black) -Maitreya (*new* @ Uber)

poses: Gingerfish Poses -Eclectic Set (Spotlight Magazine Group Gift)
backdrop: [Bad Unicorn] 06 Hype-Beast Backdrop

Leave a Reply

