Winter Dreams

Thanksgiving in the U.S. seems to set the the tone for the holidays, for me, at least. That is the day that the Holiday season truly begins. As we transition from Halloween to a few weeks of Autumn, its the day after the turkey is carved that my family has always set up our Christmas tree and began decorating. It is also on that day that I begin the annual prayer for snow. I realize that a lot of you are rolling your eyes, perhaps even groaning a bit, because you dread the snow or perhaps you already have it. However, where I live, we rarely get any snow and when we do, its a very light dusting and you can usually still see the grass. About once a year we get a solid inch or two that actually covers the lawn and the entire city shuts down. People laugh at us for shutting down, but given how often we have snow, why would our cities invest millions of dollars into equipment for clearing roadways when we all know it’ll be gone by noon tomorrow? Once in a great while, we get enough snow to keep the city still for a few days and THAT is the snow I pray for. I want enough snow to watch my dog delightfully hop around like a goat on crack! I want my kittens to see snow for the first time (read that sentence out loud if you can, now try it three times fast). I can not wait to watch them shake their little wet paws as they look at up me with accusing eyes.

let-it-snow_007

I don’t pray for long snow filled winters that require shovels and all of that, just a few days of WOW! You see, when that kind of snow happens here…well, my inner child shouts with glee and quickly layers up regardless of how much pain the cold wet fluff might cause my bones. My inner child is bursting at the seams to throw a snowball and if I’m really lucky? I’ll get to make a snowman! So, as the day of thanks is upon me and the turkey roasts deliciously in my oven, my eyes are already on the sky and my winter dreams have begun.

By the way, get you lindens ready, because the ultimate Christmas event begins on November 25th and it is astounding. C’mon, sing with me!
O Tannenbaum, O Tannenbaum
Wie treu sind deine Blatter!
O Tannenbaum, O Tannenbaum
Wie treu sind deine Blatter!
Du grunst nicht nur zur Sommerzeit,
Nein, auch im Winter, wenn es schneit.
O Tannenbaum, O Tannenbaum
Wie treu sind deine Blatter!

wearing:
!Oleander ~ Izzie (*new* @ Tannenbaum)
MINIMAL – Elsa Headband *Silver* (*new* @ Tannenbaum)
CATWA HEAD Gwen
Glam Affair – Barbara Applier ( Catwa  ) America 02 (*new* @ Kustom9)
Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara
[White~Widow] Loving – White
Cae :: Dasher :: Collection-earrings & necklace (*new* @ Tannenbaum)
*The Mystic* Gothic Flower Corset (*new* @ Tannenbaum)

 

Leave a Reply

