I was shopping with my mother when Kid Rock’s Cowboy came on the radio. Before I knew it, I was shushing her and singing along with Kid Rock, doing my best to emulate the synthesized portions of the chorus as well as the alternating high notes.

Cowboy, baby
(With the top let down and the sunshine shinin’)
Cowboy, baby
(West Coast Chillin’ while the boone’s whinin’) I want to be a cowboy, baby
(Ride at night ’cause I sleep all day) cowboy, baby
(I can smell a pig from a mile away)
pupkins

As we pulled up to a red light, I’m still rocking out and smiling all happy. I look over at my mother and she’s staring out the window with the funniest look on her face. Mind you, I did not stop singing, but it did make me laugh a little inside. You see, my mother is not a huge music fan…I know, she has no soul, but that explains a lot, too, doesn’t it? I might also mention that she just turned 70 in August.  Anyway, since that moment at the stop light, I could not stop thinking how strange and foreign that must seem to her. I haven’t seen her sing along with a song since I was a teenager. It was right after her divorce and she was hanging out with another divorce’ going to this country bar every other Friday night. She drove me absolutely nuts and horrified me to no end with her off key rendition of Randy Travis’ Diggin Up Bones. It wasn’t quite as bad as her complete lack of rhythm when trying to dance, but she only danced in our living room after getting home from the bar. She sang in the car! People could see her and possibly hear her in traffic!

So, if I was that mortified as a teenager, how must she feel as a reserved older woman who is not remotely familiar with Kid Rock’s music? So, I decided to ask her…
There are somethings you regret the moment you put the wheels in motion.
What started off as what I thought was an innocent question, quickly turned into a debate. She proceeded to tell me how none of my music made any sense and that she thought it was rude of me to expect her to be quiet just because a song came on the radio. I then felt compelled to point out that we could ride in silence for half an hour, but the minute I say, “OH! I love this song!” and turn up the radio she feels the need to read signs and point out not at all interesting things she sees out the window. *sigh*
I guess I’ll never know how truly odd it is for her, because I’m damn sure not asking her again!

wearing:
[CX] Beaded Antlers (Brown)
MINA – Mena
CATWA HEAD Gwen
CATWA Mesh Eyes
Glam Affair – Pia Applier ( Catwa / Tumble ) America 02  (*new* @ Kustom9)
::SG:: Lets Go Eyeshadow – JESSICA HEAD Catwa
::SG:: Clara Lips for CATWA Heads only!
. a i s l i n g . NoseChains
**RE** Raven Collar – Lock
Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara
!Rebel Hope – Sonoma Mesh Cardigan
BUENO – Strapless Dress  (*new* @ Kustom9)
NOMAD // Dreamer Bracelet
NOMAD // Brass Gamer Bracelet // RARE
Kibitz – Rosie rings – gold
{Reverie} ‘Gli Animale’ Collection – Knee Socks RARE – (*new* @ Kustom9)
!Rebel Hope – Lydia Mesh Boots

scene:
trees from Studio Skye
[Commoner] Cafe Collection / Corner Stage
[ keke ] willow leaves for ground – maxi
:CP: Autumn Hues Cuddle Seat (VIP Group Gift)
Fancy Decor: Harvest Cart
{vespertine}autumn morning bed tray.
uK – Autumn Vanity Cushion
uK – Pupkin Leaves Choco (*new* @ The Epiphany)
uK – Pupkin Cthulhu (*new* @ The Epiphany)
uK – Pupkin Patch Black (*new* @ The Epiphany)

poses by Bauhaus Movement (some slightly edited with AnyPose)

2 thoughts on “Musical Musings

Leave a Reply

