Gacha, Gatcha, Gotcha!

I have no idea who originated the quote or if I even have it right…or even close, but I’ve said it for years never believing for one second that I was being original, “Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one, but everyone doesn’t want to hear yours.”
gotcha

I’ve been on the grid for almost ten years now and I’ve witnessed a great deal of change. Not just from base prims to flexi to sculpts to mesh, but photography and marketing, too. I’m not claiming to be an expert on all things Second Life. I’m far too easily distracted by occurrences in my own small world. However, I have had the pleasure of once upon a time owning a store, a club, and various jobs along the way. From customer service to management, I’ve tried my hand at quite a few things. This isn’t even my first attempt at blogging. One of the biggest changes I’ve seen is the approach to marketing.
Hunts don’t seem to be as big of a deal as they once were, as a lot of designers just didn’t put as much effort into the hunt prizes and fewer people wanted to participate for that reason.
I remember when Gachas first showed up and I thought they were such a cute novel idea. They quickly became an addiction and even a way of life for some. It took me a while, but I think I’ve finally gotten my personal relationship with these vexing little machines under control. The irony is in the name…although I’m not even sure what is the correct spelling anymore.
A few years ago, I took a year long break from the grid and upon my return Events were all the rage. I’m not sure when they started exactly or which ones were even first, but they’ve certainly become the most common method of shopping now. More focus is placed on events these days than actual brands and some designers don’t even seem to have an actual store, but can be found in all the big events.
Now the newest trend seems to be the monthly boxes containing exclusive content. You pay L$XXXX each month and receive a box of merchandise that will surpass the value, containing exclusive items.
Another trend, that I first noticed happening with Gacha projects, is the colloboration efforts between designers.

Now, these are all amazing and fantastic ideas and I love all watching the innovation. I love all the excitement over new and shiny things being delivered in new and shiny ways! I know a lot of people out there aren’t happy about the monthly boxes. There are people out there that are even anti-gacha…I know, can you imagine? Well, here’s the good news!  No one is forcing anyone to participate in ANY of these events. Period.  No one forces anyone to participate in  Second Life and no one is forcing anyone to shop. So, unless a designer is being unethical, I just don’t believe we should be lashing out at them on social media, which seems to be a trend of its own these days. Plus, it kinda just makes you look childish, mean, and bitter…so put on your big boy/girl panties and try to be enough of an adult to warrant having a social media page in the first place, will ya?
gatcha

I will continue to enjoy my Luxe Box, my gachas, and anything else on the grid that I see fit…judge me if you want, but you have to admit…I look FABULOUS! ♥

wearing:
hair: Tableau Vivant \\ My Day @ Gym (*new* @ The Arcade)
CATWA HEAD Dyana
**RE** Simone Heart Collar
Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara
#2 MC.Night Essentials.Top 2pack.Black (*new* @ The Arcade)
#3 Mc.Night Essentials.Shorts.Black (*new* @ The Arcade)

scene:
STATEMENT [pixel perfect – wall art]
DRD gg rug round 60sflowers (DRD VIP-September Group Gift)
Soy. Shitamachi Alley Garden – Shabby Stands  (*new* @ The Arcade)
16 Fancy Decor: Decorative Orb (*new* @ The Arcade)
little bones. Plasma Ball (*new* @ The Arcade)
[LJ] Slumber Party – Slumbervision – Horror – RARE (*new* @ The Arcade)
[LJ] Slumber Party – Slumbervision Videos –  Horror RARE (*new* @ The Arcade)
[LJ] Slumber Party – Slumbervision VHS – Horror – RARE (*new* @ The Arcade)
Intrigue Co. – Plushie Pals: Beth the Bride (*new* @ The Arcade)
:CurelessAmore: /Surrealisme/ Reservoir Balloon (*new* @ The Arcade)
R(S)W & YKFK Ladybug Top (*new* @ The Arcade)
MadPea Little Shop of Nightmares – Flesh Eater Junior (*new* @ The Arcade)
MadPea Little Shop of Nightmares – Flesh Eater Junior(the box was cool, so I used it, too)
-tres blah- Golden Cage – Coffee Run (*new* @ The Arcade)
Fancy Decor: Inlaid Box (Group Gift)
Sway’s [Peacock] Table Lamp . cobalt (*new* @ The Arcade)
[LJ] Slumber Party – Sleeping Bag – Prints (*new* @ The Arcade)
* SORGO – Pain Killers (*new* @ The Arcade)
[LJ] Chipsters – Chippers – Salt & Vinegar (rez) (*new* @ The Arcade)
+Half-Deer+ Cutie Clutter – Hair Accessories (Pastel) (*new* @ The Arcade)
+Half-Deer+ Cutie Clutter – Spilled Black Coffee (*new* @ The Arcade)
JIAN Lively Labs :: Family Bed (*new* @ The Arcade)
Kalopsia – Cecilia’s Cage Pics (White) (FLF-Sept 16)

Leave a Reply

