People often say that ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder,’ and I say that the most liberating thing about beauty is realizing that you are the beholder. This empowers us to find beauty in places where others have not dared to look, including inside ourselves. Salma Hayek

beholder-front
I was scrolling through Flickr this morning and noticing all the different types of avatars. Yes, there are tons of clones, particularly certain mesh heads that are so distinguishable that you honestly cannot tell one avatar from another. I admit there are times that I look at other people’s avis and scrunch my nose, questioning their sanity, their eyesight, and sometimes its just a big WTF look on my face, but at the end of the day I can honestly appreciate all of the avatars out there…ok, most of them. No, I have no desire to parade MY avatar around with a huge ass, huge boobs, tiny waist and ankles. No, I have no desire to saunter to and fro with a stick figure avatar that makes the likes of Kate Moss look obese. Nor do I prefer my avatar to be too tall, too thick, too short, too skinny…wait…those are all opposing things. YES!
My avatar is the way I want it to look. Yours should be the way YOU want it to look. This is something I really came to terms with about a month and a half ago. I noticed that over the last year and a half my avatar literally gained weight. Not only did she gain weight, but she got taller! How did that happen? Well, I’ll tell you.
I let other people get in my head and convince me that their idea of beauty should be mine, too. I know that part of that stems from admiring the people who made these suggestions. The other part came from a lack of self esteem. So, a little weight here, a little nudge to my height there, plump up the tits a bit here, fatten that ass a bit there…and before I knew it…Sady wasn’t Sady at all. She was the compilation of suggestions and unsolicited advice.
With the help of another friend who knew me when my avatar was smaller and appreciated the look, I was able to tweak myself a lot closer to my roots. I’m really happy with the way my avatar looks now…although I have been considering a new head…*hangs her current one in shame.* In the meantime, I believe in myself and my avatar. I am the beholder of my beauty and I’m not changing for anyone other than myself ever again. So, the next time someone tells you they’re tired of seeing your face on every avatar across the grid? Tell them to sign off and go read a book, no one is forcing them to look at you. If someone tries to tell you that your toon is too fat, too skinny, too short, or too tall? Suggest that they go start a shape store, but to kindly leave your avatar alone. Unless you’re asking for advice with your avatar’s appearance I say tell them to all shut up…no one has the right to tell any of us what is beautiful and what isn’t, because we all know that one goofy looking dog that is soooo ugly its adorable. Now how do you think that happened?
Its your avatar, express yourself the way you want and BEHOLD YOUR OWN BEAUTY!
beholder-back

wearing:
hair:Blues. Storm
CATWA HEAD Dyana
Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara
{Reverie} ‘Micha’ Outfit (*new* @ Kustom9)
Fucking Lovely Leg Corset Piercing
Astralia – Sara ankle boots (*new* @ Kustom9)

poses by Kirin Riri Pose Pack (*new* @ Kustom9)

location: Whole Wheat (Thanks, Kobie!)

Leave a Reply

