Flutterby

Butterflies and dragonflies will always be particularly special to me. I’ll write about my relationship to dragonflies another time. As a child I was convinced that whoever named the butterfly a butterfly had to be drunk, because the obvious name should have been Flutterby. No amount of coaxing from my parents and teachers could change my mind. I’m not even sure how old I was when I finally surrendered to the actual term Butterfly, but I’m pretty sure I was well into my teen years. Mostly likely some mean girl made me feel stupid and for a brief period of my life, I cared what people thought of me. Regardless of what they’re called, I think its pretty common for people to be fascinated by a creature that goes through so much change in such a short period of time and the grace with which they move through life.
dance of the butterfly
I had the honor and privilege of participating in a Native American tradition known as a sweat lodge. I can’t attest to the authenticity of the arrangement, but what I can tell you is that I had a vision in the darkness that night and it was a butterfly rising up from the smoke. It wasn’t what I was hoping for, to be honest. I wanted my vision to be fierce. I wanted my vision to be badass! To be fair, I was surprised that I had a vision at all. I’ll admit I was confused by the butterfly at first, but also wildly fascinated because not everyone involved had a vision.
It was afterwards that I learned exactly what this butterfly symobolized in my life and it certainly seemed true enough at the time. It makes sense that the butterfly represents change, considering the metamorphisis that takes place in order for a butterfly to exist at all. So, the fluttering of a butterfly will always be special to me. Its a reminder that an entire lifetime of changes can and often do occur over a short period of time.

Given how moved I am by the butterfly, it should come as no surprise that I was beside myself with giddiness over the {Reverie} ‘Glasswings’ Collection for The Arcade! If you love butterflies…if you know someone that loves butterflies…if you love photography…if you love nature…this set will surely blow you away and will quickly become a must have. You won’t need a net to catch these beauties, just a few lindens and a click of the gacha!

wearing:
*barberyumyum*81 (recent FLF find)
{Reverie} “Glasswings’ Collection – #3 Monarch Dream Tiara (*new* @ The Arcade) September 1-30*
CATWA HEAD Dyana
L’Etre – Hestia Mesh Ears
{Reverie} “Glasswings’ Collection – #7 Wing Earrings (*new* @ The Arcade)
Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara
{Reverie} “Glasswings’ Collection – #6 Monarch Hand Acessorie (*new* @ The Arcade)
{Reverie} ‘Glasswings’- #2 Monarch Dream Dress – Maitreya RARE (*new* @ The Arcade)

pose by Del May
location: Netherwood

Leave a Reply

