Wrecking Ball

“I came in like a wrecking ball
I never hit so hard in love
All I wanted was to break your walls
All you ever did was break me
Yeah, you wreck me”
~Miley Cyrus Wrecking Ball

This is one of those songs that people either love or they hate. For me, I think I’ll always love it, because the lyrics and melody are so powerful. Naturally, I can’t help but chuckle a bit at times when I hear it because I think of the video and all the parodies that have come out since. Oh, how I wish they had reigned in some of their ideas for that video. I think this song could have been less of a joke if Miley hadn’t licked that damn sledge hammer. The fact remains that I love the song and it struck a chord the first time I heard it and still does. I’ve been the wrecking ball and I’ve been wrecked. Haven’t we all? And not just by love, but other relationships, too. Doesn’t matter if its friends, lovers, or even family. We are all subject to the proverbial wrecking ball.
(Ok, it might not really be proverbial, but its my post and I say it is…shhhh, I do what I want, you know this.)
Wrecking Ball.jpg

As I’ve been working on this post, I’ve been thinking about how we tear down each other’s walls and sometimes we just tear each other down. Even how sometimes we are the wrecking ball in our own lives. Sometimes that can be a good thing, others not so much. We’ve probably all impacted someone’s life one way or the other, so we’re left to ask ourselves which type of wrecking ball are we? What kind of wrecking ball do we want to be? I’m going to step out on a limb and assume that most of us try to be good people. None of us are perfect and from time to time we screw up. *gasps* Yet, we continue to subscribe to bullies and their tactics, regardless of their intent, their motives, or their tactics. As mature adults (sticks her tongue out, I can be mature…shhh), we have the power to fight the nastiness, but not with more hate…we need more love.

So, for today, how about we all go out and try building each other up, instead of tearing each other down. I think the world could use a nice boost of positive energy and what better community to do it than Second Lifers? Afterall, we are world wide!

wearing:
[RA] Tiwa Hair  (*new* @ Hairology)
CATWA HEAD Dyana
:BAMSE: Clockwork Heart Choker – Black
Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara
.:cheeky:. arm Bands! Black
**{FORMANAILS}**Accessoires – NIKOLAJ2 UNISEX
[Since1975] – Bat’sGacha – Wheel ULTRA RARE (gacha garden)
Addams // Addams Pro Top Gym // Black
Addams // Addams Pro Short Gym // Red
::MA:: Wedge Sneakers Boots “Kingston” {WEAR ME} – PACK

scene created using:
MESH BRICKWALL KIT + MANY EXTRAS – URBAN JUNGLE
STATEMENT [wrecking ball] [RARE]
{anc} cracked glass (cloud)
MadPea Why So Mad? – Wrecking Ball RARE

pose by Del May edited using AnyPose

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

